Migrate Users to Unified Authentication Via Account Manager

Let your users log into their instances via Account Manager by migrating them to Unified Authentication. Once migrated, users need to manage only one set of login credentials. You can increase security on your instances by using Account Manager's two-factor authentication.

We provide several stages for this migration, to gradually introduce the change to your users. Before beginning migration, we recommend that you export a backup file with your user data.

Once your first user migrates to unified authentication, you can't deactivate unified authentication. To revert to local authentication, contact support.

  1. Select Administration > Global Preferences > Security and select the User Authentication tab.
  2. Select which migration phase you want for your organization.
    1. No Unified User Authentication

      All users log into their instances using their specific instance login credentials.

    2. Unified User Authentication Supported

      You can provide power users with a link that lets them link their instance and Account Manager accounts.

    3. Unified Authentication Encouraged

      A prompt appears when users log into their instances, instructing them to link their instance and Account Manager accounts. Users can still log in without linking their accounts.

    4. Unified Authentication Mandatory

      A prompt appears when users log into their instances, instructing them to link their instance and Account Manager accounts. Users cannot log in until they've linked their accounts.

    5. Unified Authentication Only

      Users can only log into their instance via Account Manager's login. At this point, you have to manually provide a link to any users who haven't linked their accounts.

  3. You can enter roles that you want all migrated users to automatically have.
  4. You can see the migration status, including how many users have migrated to unified login and what percentage of your users have migrated.
  5. Click Apply.