Configuring Change History Preferences

You control change history settings across the organization. Because there are potentially a large number of events, you can filter events using a variety of criteria, such as by user, object type, or date. For example, you can disable the change history feature entirely, or you can limit the number of days you want to keep change events.

See Change History and Viewing Change History.

  1. Select Administration > Global Preferences > Change History.
  2. Select an Instance Type.

    This feature is available on Staging and Production instances.

    You can directly enable change tracking on a Production instance, but your settings are overwritten the next time you replicate global preferences to Production. You can also indirectly enable change tracking on a Production instance by configuring your settings on a Staging instance and then replicating your settings to Production. On the Staging instance, select Production as your instance type; this ensures that the settings are copied to the Production instance during replication (as part of the Preferences replication task).

  3. Select Enable Change History.
    Note: The total count of change history events may differ from the sum of usage counts due to events belonging to more than one module.
  4. Enter a value for the Cleanup Recorded History field between and 1 and 7 days.
    This represents the number of days history changes are retained for viewing before being discarded.
  5. Select the Business Manager modules you want to audit.

    On Staging instances, tracking is available for the following modules:

    • Object Definition
    • Site & Preference
    • Catalog
    • Price Book
    • Inventory List
    • Content
    • Online Marketing
    • Search & Sorting
    • Site URLs
    • Ordering

    On Production instances, it's only available for the following modules:

    • Object Definition
    • Site & Preference
    • Search & Sorting
    • Site URLs
    • Ordering
  6. Click Apply.