Content Libraries

In Salesforce B2C Commerce you can use the private library that was created when your site was created, or you can create a library that is shared across multiple sites. A site can use its own private library or it can use a shared library, but not both. Multiple sites can use the same shared library. A site can't use another site's private library. A site always has a library assigned to it. B2C Commerce doesn't let you unassign a library from a site if it's the only library assigned to that site.

You can have a maximum of 200 shared content libraries per instance. This limit doesn't apply to private content libraries.

See Copying Content into a Shared Library, if you want to move your private library content into a shared library. See Site-Specific Content if you want to use shared libraries, but have some content that needs to remain site-specific.

The following table describes the types of libraries:

Library type Usage Create and delete access
Site The library used by the site - private or shared NA - this is an assignment
Private Can only be the site library for the owning site No
Shared Can be the site library for multiple sites Yes, with permission

Shared Library Examples

General Example

An organization has five content libraries and three sites, as follows:

Library Type Site Assignments
Library - Content1 Private Content1
Library - Content2 Private Content2
Library - Content3 Private  
Shared Library1 Shared Content3
Shared Library2 Shared  

In this example, the Content1 and Content2 sites use private libraries as site libraries, while the Content3 site uses the shared Shared Library1 library. The other libraries are not assigned to any sites. The merchant wants the Content2 site to use the Shared Library1 shared library as well. To do this, the administrator would edit the Shared Library1, click Add, and then select Content2. The results appear as follows:

Library Type Site Assignments
Library - Content1 Private Content1
Library - Content2 Private  
Library - Content3 Private  
Shared Library1 Shared

Content3

Content2

Shared Library2 Shared  
Note: Before reassigning libraries, make sure you are clear on your objectives, or you could inadvertently remove content from your site.

Site reassignment Example

B2C Commerce doesn't let you create a situation where a site has no library. The following example shows two sites (site1 and site2) and two libraries (Shared1 and Private1) as follows:

Library Type Site Assignments
Private1 Private Site1
Shared1 Shared Site2

There is no Add button on the Library page General tab when you edit the Private1 library because you can't assign a private library to another site. However, the Add button appears when you edit the Shared1 library, because you can assign both Site1 and Site2 to the Shared1 library. In this case, the Reassign Sites window only shows Site1 as a selection, because B2C Commerce lets you assign a currently unassigned site to the library, but you can't unassign a site.

Permissions

To be able to view, create, and delete content and shared content libraries, you must be assigned to both Business Manager Module and Functional permissions. You can create and delete libraries or change the assignment of libraries only on staging and sandbox instances. This functionality is not available on development or production instances. If you make changes to libraries on staging instances, you can transfer the changes to development or production instances using data replication.

  1. Select Administration > Organization > Roles & Permissions. Select the Administrator role.
  2. Click the Business Manager Modules tab to grant permission to Content Libraries.
  3. Click the Functional Permissions tab to grant permission to Manage_All_Libraries.

See Roles and Permissions and Using Business Manager Module Permissions.

Related Links

Content Assets