Merge Customers

You can filter duplicate Customer records in Customer Manager. Duplicates are determined by matching email addresses. Only two customers might be merged at a time. When Customer records are merged, the Customer that is selected first is retained. The second customer record selected has its details merged into the first and then its record will be deleted. Order Management recognizes the record for the second Customer and replaces it (merges it into) the first Customer's record. The following information can be replaced in a Customer record:

Note: You can also merge records using the Merge Customers button on the Customer Search Results listing in Customer Service Center. See Customer Search Results in Customer Service Center online help.

To merge two Customer records, follow these steps:

  1. In the Customers accordion menu, select Customer Manager. The Customer Manager dashboard appears.
  2. Select Duplicates from the Quick Search drop-down list to restrict the search to Customers that you want to merge.
  3. Click Search. The Customer Results Listing appears with the Customers that match email addresses. The following information is provided for each record, where available: Customer checkbox, Customer ID, Tag, File type, Label, Location, Contact, Email, Phone, and Flag. See Customer Search Results for details on these fields.
  4. Select the checkboxes next to their user IDs in the search results for the first and second Customer records. An Actions drop-down menu will appear at the bottom of the page.
  5. Select Merge Customer Records from the action drop-down list and click GO. You are prompted to confirm your action. Click OK to merge the records or click Cancel to abort this action. The Customer records are now merged into a single Customer record.