Data Deletion & Obfuscation Provider

You can completely delete customer and order records in Order Management. Schedule an individual record for deletion via a button on the Order Details page or the Customer Details page. An internal process runs overnight and scrubs data that has been scheduled for deletion.

Note: When data is scrubbed, some of it is removed, and other data is overwritten.

The following rules apply to this deletion.

You can search for customer and order records that are scheduled to be scrubbed, or that were scheduled for a failed scrub, using the Quick Search in the Customer Manager or the Orders Manager.

Define a Data Scrub

You configure the data scrub using an XML document in the provider. The document includes sections for each database table that can be scrubbed. Some sections include individual entries for each data field, and others include a single entry for the entire table. You can use the default configuration or make the following modifications.

Each data field in the XML includes an obfuscate element, which can have a value of 0 or 1. Data in the field is scrubbed if the value is 1.

Note: Be careful! If you turn off scrubbing for certain fields or tables, you risk violating consumer data protection law.

Elements that represent entire tables include only a remove element, which can have a value of 0 or 1. Data in the table related to a scrubbed customer or order record is scrubbed if the value is 1.

If you use custom attributes on certain objects related to customer or order records, you can add them to the scrub. We recommend that you include them to avoid violating data protection law. You can add custom attributes to the scrub list for any table that includes an attributes section in the XML. To add a custom attribute, make an entry like the following in the attributes section for the appropriate table.

<attribute>
  <attribute_label>custom_attribute_label</attribute_label>
  <obfuscate>1</obfuscate>
</attribute>

Provider Settings

The following table lists the fields and buttons used to configure data scrubbing.

Fields and Buttons Description

Profile dropdown

A dropdown list of custom profiles that you can assign to the provider. See Configuring Providers.

Job History

Displays the results of the most recent executions of the data scrub job, including the following fields:

  • Start Date
  • End Date
  • Duration
  • Job Status
  • Job Description (includes the numbers of customer records and order records that were scrubbed)

Order Scrub Limit

Defines the maximum number of order records that a single run of the job can scrub. If the order records scheduled for scrubbing exceed this number, then the job fails and no records are scrubbed. The records remain scheduled for scrubbing, so you must either increase the limit or override it to prevent the job from failing again. Note that although only order records are counted against the limit, exceeding it prevents any related records (customer, payment, etc., as defined in the XML) from being scrubbed.

One-Time Override

You can override the record limit for the next scheduled run of the job by clicking Override. The next time the job runs, it will ignore the limit on the number of records to be scrubbed. If the override is active, the date is displayed. Click Cancel Override to cancel the override if it is in effect. The override only affects one run of the job.
Note: When the job fails because the number of order records exceeds the limit, use the override to force it to run after investigating the issue. Otherwise, the job will continue to fail because the number of scheduled order records still exceeds the limit.

System Enabled

Select this option to enable the data scrub job. If it is not selected, the job does not run, and the scheduling buttons do not appear on the customer and order details pages.

Data Scrub Configuration

You can edit the XML that controls which data fields and tables are deleted or overwritten by the scrub job. If valid XML is saved, a message appears here. To modify the XML, click Edit.

Data Scrub Delay

Defines the number of days to elapse before scrubbing records that have been scheduled. For example, if the delay is set to 2 on January 29, the records scheduled for scrubbing on that day will be scrubbed when the job runs on the night of January 31. A negative value is treated as 0, so records scheduled that day will be scrubbed that night.
Note: The scrub date is set based on the current delay value when you schedule a record. If the delay is changed, the record is not rescheduled. For example, if a record is scheduled on January 29 when the delay is set to 2, and on January 30 the delay is changed to 3, that record will still be scrubbed on January 31. The details page for a record shows its scheduled scrub date.

Update button

Saves the setting changes.

Cancel button

Closes the page without saving the changes.

Clear Configuration button

Clears all settings.

X Privacy Update: We use cookies to make interactions with our websites and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. By continuing to use this site you are giving us your consent to do this.