Retention preferences

Retention Preferences configure retention time for system events and emails before deletion from Order Management. System events specify the retention period in number of days or events. Emails specify the retention period in number of days. After that specified number of days/events, the system events or emails are deleted from the system. A scheduled Nightly job manages the deletion process. Note that for email, it's the body (content) of the email that is deleted. Other information, such as create date, flags, and subject remains in the system. In Administration and Customer Service Center, when you hover over the email link, the message 'email body no longer available" appears when the email body has been deleted.

The following subsections are included:

Note: Default values apply only to new Order Management installations.

System Events

This page allows you to specify how long to retain system events in Order Management. System events are deleted after the specified number of days/events by the scheduled Nightly job.

To specify system event retention, do as follows:

  1. In Order Management Administration: click Settings > Preferences.
  2. On the System Preferences page, click the Retention tab.
  3. Click System Events.
  4. On the System Events page, enter the value for removal of system events as follows:
    • Remove system events after ___ days. The minimum value is 30 days; the default value and maximum value is 365 days.
    • Remove system events per object at ___ number of events. This changes the maximum number of events per object. The minimum value is 30 events; the default value and maximum value is 256 events.
  5. Click Update to accept the values.

Emails

This page lets you specify the number of days to retain email body content. Email content is purged based on the number of days since the email was created. After the specified number of days, the body of the email is deleted from Order Management. Email information, such as Create Date, Subject, or Flags are retained and stored in Order Management.

To specify email body retention, do as follows:

  1. In Order Management Administration: click Settings > Preferences.
  2. On the System Preferences page, click the Retention tab.
  3. Click Emails.
    Note: Email deletion is optional. There is no minimum or maximum number of days.
  4. On the Emails page, select one/both of the following checkboxes. By default, these checkboxes are unchecked. Specify the number of days as follows:
    • Remove email bodies for stock email templates after ___ days. The default value is 30 days.
    • Remove email bodies for custom email templates after ___ days. The default value is 60 days.
  5. Click Update to accept the email retentions. The scheduled Nightly job performs these deletions.
    Note: When viewing emails in the Details section of an Order detail page in the Administration module, the Resend link is visible but disabled when the email has been deleted. If you hover over the link, the message "Email body no longer available" appears. In Customer Service Center, when viewing emails in the Activity History section of the Order detail page, the same message appears.

Shipping Labels

This page lets you specify how long to retain shipping labels in Order Management. Shipping labels are deleted after the specified number of days by the scheduled Nightly job.

To specify shipping label retention, do as follows:

  1. In Order Management Administration: click Settings > Preferences.
  2. On the System Preferences page, click the Retention tab.
  3. Click Shipping Labels.
  4. On the Shipping Labels page, enter a value to remove shipping labels. Only one of these options (buttons) can be selected:
    • Remove shipping labels ___ days after being created. The default value is 180 days.
    • Remove shipping labels ___ days after a shipping order is closed. The default value is 180 days.
  5. Click Update to accept the values.
Note: Shipping label deletion is optional, however, if you click the Shipping Labels button and don't enter a value, deletion occurs after 180 days (the default).

Return Labels

This page lets you specify how long to retain return labels in Order Management. Return labels are deleted after the specified number of days by the scheduled Nightly job.

To specify return label retention, do as follows:

  1. In Order Management Administration: click Settings > Preferences.
  2. On the System Preferences page, click the Retention tab.
  3. Click Return Labels.
  4. On the Return Label page, enter the value for removal of return labels as follows:
    • Remove return labels ___ days after being created. The default value is 180 days.
  5. Click Update to accept the values.
Note: Return label deletion is optional, however, if you click the Return Labels button and don't enter a value, deletion occurs after 180 days (the default).