User Account Listing

Executing a search on the Security Manager page displays matching active user accounts in a list with information as shown in the following table. See Users - Security Manager for details on the Security Manager page.

Fields and Buttons Description

Type

If you hover over the icon, the type of account appears such as user account or service account.

Username

If you click the username, the Edit User page appears for that user account. See Edit User.

Full Name

If you click the full name, the Edit User page appears for that user account.

Email

Click the email address to open a new email to that address using your default email system (not Order Management email).

Security Level

The most permissive role associated with that account.

Site

A dropdown list of sites that is associated with that user account, if appropriate.

Expire Password link

Expires the password for the existing user, requiring the user to change their password on the next login.

Trash can icon (???)

Deletes the user.

Edit User

Select New User at the top of the Security Manager page, or select an existing user, to create or change user details, including roles.

Note: If you use Account Manager to manage Order Management user accounts, you can only create Service users on this page.

When a new user account is created, Order Management automatically generates a unique password. An email is then sent to the new user to request a password reset. The Administrator can delay sending the password reset email notification, if desired by selecting the Suppress Change Password Email checkbox. This process can be useful when creating a large volume of new user accounts at one time. Later, the Administrator invokes the email notification for the user to reset the password by selecting the Send Password Reset Email button.

Note: When the email address, username, or password is changed for a user, an email notification of the changes is sent to the user's email address. If the email address is changed, the notification is sent to both the old and new email addresses. The Email User Change Notification email template can be customized when user information is changed.

The following table describes the fields and buttons on the Edit User page. Fields with an asterisk (*) are required.

If you use Account Manager to manage Order Management accounts, then only the following fields are enabled.
  • Notes
  • Site
  • Locale
  • Time Zone
  • View Effective Permissions
  • Assign Roles to User (Administrator cannot be added or removed)
Fields and Buttons Description

*User Type dropdown

A dropdown list of the types of user including service account or user account. A service account is used by automations and integrations.

Note: The Order Management API requires that all client applications identify themselves using a Service user account with a token. For the Service user account, click Generate Token at the bottom of the UI page to generate a token.

*First Name

The first name of the user.

*Last Name

The last name of the user.

*Username

The username for the user, such as public, power user, or admin.

*Password and Re-enter Password

An automatically generated password is created once the user account is created. To change a password, enter it in the Password field and then confirm the password by entering it again in the Re-enter Password field.

Note: The password policies are set to Salesforce minimums for all new user accounts, and for existing user accounts where the policy has not been set. An Administrator can also set a minimum password policy requirement by following the PCI rules.

Send Password Reset Email button

Lets the Administrator invoke the password reset email notification to the user.

User must change password at next login check box

Requires the user to change the password upon first logging in.

Phone

The phone number for the user.

*Email

The email address for the user.

Notes

Any additional notes that the administrator wants to add regarding the user.

Site dropdown

Identifies the site associated with the user. If set, the user only sees inventory and orders linked to that site. Use the Site dropdown list (from the pre-defined list of sites) to select the site to which the user is associated. The default is Any.

Locale dropdown

Identifies the Locale associated with the user. Use the Locale dropdown list to select a different locale (from the pre-defined list of locales) to which the user is associated.

Note: If the user role doesn't specify a Locale, the default is English. If the user role specifies a Locale other than English, French, or German, then English is the Locale. See Localization.

Time Zone dropdown

Identifies the time zone associated with the user’s Locale. Use the Time Zone dropdown list to select a different time zone for the user.

Account is locked out checkbox

Prevents the user from logging in. Accounts are automatically locked after six failed login attempts. You can lock an account when you want to perform checks or tasks before allowing the user to log in. Unchecking this box unlocks a locked account.

Active checkbox

Lets site administrators mark disabled accounts as Active.

Note: As part of the enhanced password PCI and Salesforce password security requirements, inactive users for at least 90 are disabled.

Assign Roles To User checkboxes

Assign roles to the user. User roles determine which modules are accessible. A single user can be assigned to many roles. That user can access the permission sets defined by the sum of all the roles assigned.
Note: The Administrator checkbox is only enabled if you are not managing accounts through Account Manager.

View Effective Permissions link

Shows a list of effective permissions for that user. See Security Roles Manager for details on permissions for each role.

Report Author Information box

Shows the Report Author information (if the role was selected for that user) including the Report Author username and the Sync date. The Report Author username is automatically generated once the Administrator assigns the Report Author role to a user account. The Report Author username is required to create reports in the reporting database. The Sync date refers to the date when the Report Author account was synchronized between Order Management and the Reporting database.

Update button

Updates the system with the new user account information. If all changes were accepted, the message “User updated successfully” appears.

Cancel button

Discards any user account changes.